Steve Mollenkopf

CEO and Director
Qualcomm Incorporated
2021 SIA Vice Chair

Steve Mollenkopf is chief executive officer and president of Qualcomm Incorporated. Mollenkopf provides executive oversight to current and future technology development activities, further strengthening the Company’s ability to successfully navigate an increasingly complex and competitive market. He also serves as a member of Qualcomm’s executive committee, helping to drive Qualcomm’s overall global strategy.

Since 2008, Mollenkopf led QCT and served as executive vice president and group president of Qualcomm, driving growth and providing critical, technical, and operational leadership. QCT is the world’s largest wireless chip supplier and fabless semiconductor company, in terms of revenue.

Under Mollenkopf’s leadership, QCT also completed the $3B acquisition of Atheros, the Company’s largest acquisition to date, to accelerate the expansion of Qualcomm’s technologies and platforms to new businesses beyond cellular and provide access to significant new growth opportunities.

Mollenkopf joined Qualcomm in 1994, as an engineer, and was a leading contributor to the Globalstar project before joining the QCT team, in 1999. He played a central role in developing QCT’s roadmap and led the development and commercialization of the 3GPP family of air interface technologies. His technical and business leadership have also been critical to the development and implementation of multiple industry-leading innovations.

A published IEEE author, Mollenkopf holds patents in areas such as power estimation and measurement, multi-standard transmitter system, and wireless communication transceiver technology. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Semiconductor Industry Association and also serves as Co-Chairman of the Global Semiconductor Alliance Board of Directors to include their Executive Committee and CEO Council.

Mollenkopf holds two electrical engineering degrees, a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering from Virginia Tech, and a Master of Science in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.

< Board of Directors